Bitch & Moan & Grumble & Groan (Part 2)

Image

During this time of physical upheaval there was also workplace upheaval. I went from having health insurance paid by the company to insurance paid by myself. Not too bad though – I have the least of all insurance with a $3000 deductable for $160 per month. Not too great, not too terrible. Of course, at the same time I went from being an employee to being self-employed while still working the same exact job! Yay, I am responsible for my own estimated taxes! I have no idea what the hell I’m doing! I’m an idiot! Holy Hell! Kill me now!

So, now I have to do estimated taxes quarterly, I get paid hourly instead of salaried, I do not get paid for holidaze nor do I get vacation pay. I am on my fucking own. I did negotiate all of that into my new hourly rate (plus a tidy 20+% increase in pay), but I still suffered monetarily from all the time off during Xmas, etc. Another thing I negotiated was a four day week – Fridays off. Now I’m working 4 days a week and getting paid roughly the same as when I was working 5 days a week. Ish. Same amount of work, fewer hours, more of a pain in the ass tax-wise. Eh, whatever.

The saga continues…

Leave a Reply

