Odds & Ends

Double-Headed-Battleaxe

Ack, waiting around for the insurance auditor to show up, so that I can figure out if I have to go all battle-axe on him, if I have to giggle like I don’t have a brain, or if I can be a normal person. It’s not the audit itself that is torturous, it is the having a total stranger in my office for 3 hours thing.

Small talk, yuk. Luckily, introverts tend towards excruciating things like auditing, but the problem with that is some take their jobs waaaaay too seriously. Those are the ones I have to go all battle-axe on. If it is an extrovert I’ll have to giggle, which is wearing in a completely different way. [Awesome, he seems to be completely normal, which means I can be normal. Still wearing, though]

I’m still up to my eyeballs in work & it doesn’t seem to be ending any time soon. Sure, I goof off like nobody’s business, so it’s probably mostly my fault for being behind. I’m trying to care, but failing. Every time I turn around the powers that be are complicating my job. This is probably a good thing though because I’m not sure anyone could easily figure this stuff out. My brain seems to have an extremely high tolerance for numbers & details.

Changing the subject…

I’ve recently gone back from eating safe starches (not sure if there is such a thing for me) to very low carb & it is really working out for me. I seem to have a lot of inflammation where carbs are concerned. We made stir fry with veggies, chicken, coconut oil & rice & my face was hot to the touch all the next day. If I eat everything in the meal but the rice, I’m fine. My husband, on the other hand, seems to do really well with carbs.

My diet now consists of a lot of bone broth & fat with some protein & small amounts of veggies. I have started drinking raw whole milk before bed & raw heavy cream in my coffee in the morning & some homemade yogurt at lunch.

I haven’t made yogurt with my raw milk yet because I still have some of the other, but I think the only difference is with pasteurized you heat it up to 180F to kill anything living in it & then let it cool to 115F to add the culture & with raw you only heat it to 115F so you DON’T kill anything in it & then add the culture.

Changing again…

I’ve decided that menopause is all about zinc for me. When I first started ‘pausing & skipping periods, I had hot flashes all the time. Then I stupidly went on a potato diet & messed my body up massively. I bled profusely for about 2-1/2 weeks until I figured out that it was caused by zinc deficiency due to copper toxicity from the potatoes.

I started carefully taking as much zinc as I thought my body could safely handle & quit bleeding. Whew. Then I noticed that I don’t have hot flashes anymore. Now I seem to be successfully on my way to never having a period again! Whenever I have a hot flash or a hint of a period, I take zinc for a couple of days & it stops. Do you know how to never have a period again? Buy about $100 worth of sanitary products! Yay, I’m fully stocked up! Hopefully I will never have to use any of them!

2 thoughts on “Odds & Ends

  1. Red Pill Woman

    How does it feel to be period-free? You seem to be taking it well…does it bother you at all?

    So did you go battle-axe or giggly on the insurance guy? 😀

  2. TempestTcup Post author

    I’m fine with getting through with this stage of my life & not having a period is great so far, but I’ve heard it can turn on you. I think eating primal/paleo & keeping my minerals in balance is making everything work smoothly.

    The auditor turned out to be perfectly quiet & nice & I was able to just be a normal person. Whew.

Leave a Reply

