Micro-brewed Craft Beer

BEER_GLASSES_2

Keoni Galt’s new post has convinced me to start drinking the local craft, micro-brewery beers instead of that Miller Lite swill I’ve been drinking. I make a conscious choice in everything else: raw milk from the dairy, high quality cigarillos, grassfed butter, etc. I don’t have a local grassfed source for my meat, but that’s next on the list. Here’s some of what Keoni has to say:

High quality alcohol manufacture is an artisan craft. Micro-brewed craft beers are “living” beverages, carbonated by the natural fermentation process. Mass produced corporate swill is “dead” pasteurized fare and injected with C02 to carbonate the beer. Same goes for mass produced box wine versus properly aged bottle and cask wine. High quality tequilas and mezcal are made with 100% distilled agave, and high quality whiskeys and rums are aged for years in oak barrels, a process in which the charred innards of the barrel wood work like charcoal filters that remove the impurities of the distillate over time.

The main reasons we drink Miller Lite is because it is a low point beer in this state & because it is only $1.50 – $1.75 during happy hour. I like drinking, but don’t like getting drunk, so the low point part is attractive. We are cheap bastards, but maybe we should reconsider that. If I had a pint of draft, craft beer it would cost $4-$5, but I probably wouldn’t drink it as fast.

And the really stupid thing is that I personally know one of the local brewers; I have absolutely no reason to not support him & the other local brewers from my town. So, I’m going to start doing this & I’ll let you know if it increases my cost of living. Dang, I’ll have to re-train all of my bartenders!

One reason we chose cigarillos over cigarettes is because we decided that cigarettes are way too addicting & cigars are too cumbersome. With our current favorite cigarillos we smoke 1-2 per night between the 2 of us & really don’t have any desire to smoke more. If that consumption continues, our annual outlay will run us about $500 per year retail, $220 wholesale.

16 thoughts on “Micro-brewed Craft Beer

  1. sunshinemary

    If you can get beer that has been spontaneously fermented with wild yeast, that is a good choice. We have a brewery near us that produces beer this way:

    Spontaneous Fermentation
    Beer that is exposed to the surrounding open air to allow natural/wild yeast and bacteria to literally infect the beer, are spontaneous fermented beers. One of the typical yeasts is the Brettanomyces Lambicus strain. Beers produced in this fashion are sour, non-filtered and inspired by the traditional lambics of the Zenne-region. This brewing method has been practised for decades in the West Flanders region of Belgium.

  2. TempestTcup Post author

    That’s interesting – I’ll have to look into that. I tried to look to see if bottled beer here had to be pasteurized to be distributed, but then I had to get back to work!

    I’ve never thought of beer as particularly healthy; I’ve always thought of it in varying degrees of bad/not as bad, so this is all new to me.

    Thanks!

  3. Keoni Galt

    Thanks for the linkage.

    Yes, it’s true, micro brewed beers are more expensive, but you have to look at the big picture.

    Most microbrews have higher alcohol content and more calories – aka more filling.

    “Less filling – Tastes Great” is not just the marketing pitch for miller lite, but the anthem for the entire processed food industry.

    In the same way it’s really easy to devour an entire can of pringles in a single sitting, so too is it easy to drink a 6 – 12 pack of Miller/Bud/Coors/Pabst etc.

    But a Microbrew like Sierra Nevada’s Torpedo Extra Pale Ale? At 7.2% alcohol, 2-3 beers is filling and gives you a nice buzz, and you don’t have to sit their and suck down beer after beer after beer to get a similar effect.

    BTW – Sierra Nevada is probably the biggest Micro Brewer out there that still “bottle conditions” their beer aka adding a little more yeast at bottling to get the carbonation from natural fermentation. There are a lot of beers that started out as micro brewed and bottle conditioned who get bought out by the Giant corporations like InBev, who then have their beers brewed at the large corporate Brew facilities. Red Hook used to be one of my fav micros in the late 90’s and early 2000’s. They were one of the first brands in the Micro Brew movement that emerged at the time and has grown into a worldwide popularity today. InBev bought them out mid-00’s and I could immediately tell the difference in flavor. It changed for the worse. Same goes for Hawaii’a Kona Brew…they sold out to Mainland brewers and now have their bottled beers on sale all over the west coast of the US, but it doesn’t taste the same as the micro brew they produce in the restaurant brewery here.

    It’s the simple economics of mass production. The larger a vat of beer you brew, the more likely it is that the corp. has to pasteurize and add preservatives and forego natural bottle conditioning for injecting C02 into the bottles for carbonation.

  4. TempestTcup Post author

    This definitely needs more study! I mean, I knew that if I brewed my own, which I totally want to do sometime soon, I would get the fermentation benefits, but for some reason I thought that all of the beer bought in stores & bars had been pasteurized. Evidently I was wrong!

    Thank you – I’ve been to many, many sites on nutrition & fermentation, etc, & I’ve never seen this until now. Now to get some nice whisky!

  5. darlingdoll

    If you guys end up loving the micro brews you should come out to Colorado for a mini vacation. There are something like 180+ micro brewers here. There’s even a Burning Can Beer Festival in June (haha get it Burning Can, Burning Man…)

  6. TempestTcup Post author

    Oooo, that sounds fun – we have been to Canon City a few times recently.

    Once we were driving past Denver & got stuck in that $4 toll every half mile or so area. That was ridiculous 🙂

    June sounds like a good time for a short vacation!

  7. darlingdoll

    Gah! I think that price has since been reduced, but I usually stick to the highways and avoid the tollways at all costs. June in Colorado is pretty spectacular.

  8. dannyfrom504

    i’m partial to yuengling. there’s a pizzaria by my house that has 5 micro-brewed beers. pretty good stuff. i don’t drink more than 2 lest i end up possibly getting a DUI. lol.

  9. TempestTcup Post author

    Yeah, good idea!

    I’ll try the yuengling – there’s a restaurant nearby that has a smoking beer-hall upstairs (the restaurant is snooty & pretentious but the upstairs is cool) & has a huge wall of taps. I think they do cask conditioned beers too. I’m going to try to find a Lambic beer there.

  10. TempestTcup Post author

    I think of it as baby steps to being the beer snob I’ve always despised!

    I’ve always bought the cheap ones, because they are cheap & so am I 🙂

  11. TempestTcup Post author

    I would love to do that, but we just don’t have room right now. Also, I had a bad reaction to the local craft beer – I think due to the hops or something. Lots of joint pain & inflammation. I’m staying away from it for a while. Ouch.

  12. TempestTcup Post author

    I think it will be okay to drink them occasionally, it’s just that we went whole hog on the idea for a week. They haven’t ever affected me like this before – must’ve O.D.ed on them! Oopsies! 😀

Leave a Reply

