Conversational Sluts & Gut Flora

slut1

Sunshinemary had an interesting post a few weeks ago about the human microbiome and how trading it during sex affects us:

When a woman comes together with her husband, she’s receiving more than just semen. She’s also being “seeded” by receiving a big dose of his microbiome inside her, a microbiome which literally affects who she is and how she thinks and feels. In a very real sense, we become part of the men we have sexual relations with.

She goes on further on the subject:

I am only wondering aloud here, but does it not seem that it would be stressful to a woman’s body and mind to receive the microbiomes of numerous men? Wouldn’t her body be able to adapt and function better if she only received that from one man? And doesn’t it make sense that she would bond deeply with that one man, given that part of him is now physically a part of her, affecting the very way she perceives the world?

This has been fermenting (hah!) in the back of my mind for the past week or so & then I realized why I hung onto it. My husband & I are bar gut-flora sluts. When we go to a bar, we will sit next to anyone & talk to them & just by the act of conversation, we share gut flora with them.

I have been working hard on colonizing my body with beneficial bacteria & I always thought of talking to people as me sharing my hard work (good gut flora) with them & increasing their health, but I never thought of them sharing their bad flora with me. And I certainly never thought that sharing a lot of strangers’ flora might be messing me up internally.

Just a few generations ago, there were close extended families that everyone spent a lot of time with & they would share their gut flora. People may not have had a lot of contact with complete strangers. When I was a kid being raised in the Catholic tradition, we lived in our Parish, went to school in the Parish school, went to Mass in the Church next to the school, played with all of the other neighborhood Parish kids after school & Mass. I bet if we had all been tested, they would have found that the Parish had a specific gut flora.

Which brings me to the subject of going to a wide variety of small bars & conversing with a lot of different people, a lot of which are complete strangers. I never thought of this as damaging my health. I never considered that this might be seeding me with detrimental microbiome. And the stupid thing about it is that most of these people are downright tedious, anyway. So it is damaging to my body & mind.

My husband & I were talking last night about how annoying a lot of the people are that we see on a regular basis & Sunshinemary’s post came to mind. I told him about it & suddenly it all made sense – we need to only converse with the people we like & respect. Only share gut flora or microbiomes with people in which we want to invest. We need to quit being conversational sluts.

17 thoughts on “Conversational Sluts & Gut Flora

  1. TempestTcup Post author

    Good article!

    This part of it is why you want to kiss hang out with skinny, healthy people:

    “Disorders in our internal ecosystem — a loss of diversity, say, or a proliferation of the “wrong” kind of microbes — may predispose us to obesity and a whole range of chronic diseases, as well as some infections.”

  2. Stingray

    I have to say . . . . EEEWWWWWWW.

    Now that I have that out of the way, may I ask you a question? Now that it is getting warm out I find it hard to drink my bone broth everyday as it’s just not as appetizing (I know suck it up). But, if I used it to make rice, would I still get all of it’s benefits? Also, since I usually mix wine in with my rice, would the alcohol have destroy any of the benefits?

    Thanks for your time, Tempest.

  3. TempestTcup Post author

    I’m not much into it in the summer either & it’s hard to make because even a crockpot will heat up the kitchen a bunch.

    Using it for rice will still give all the benefits & you can use in sauces, etc. I’d heard that you can boil the gelatin away, but a chef friend said that he can simmer broth for days & have it still very gelatinous, so that helps!

    I don’t think wine will destroy the benefits either. Broth is just gelatin & minerals, etc & it’s pretty difficult to disrupt that. I think in the olden days they used it in most of their dishes as moisture, so maybe adding it to everything possible is the way to go.

  4. Stingray

    Thank you! I have some cooking up in the crockpot right now. I will start adding it to far more things as a mug sounds terrible right now. In the winter, it wonderful! Plus, I can’t get my husband to drink it, so this way he’ll be getting it too!

  5. TempestTcup Post author

    I drink it for my hair & nails & now my hair has gone nuts growing & my nails are really strong. Neither were doing well before. My husband doesn’t drink as much as me, but his hair is growing & is really thick & has actually lost most of his gray. Also, we jokingly call it boner broth for obvious reasons & a little TMI 🙂

  6. Stingray

    HAHAHA! I love it!

    I remembered that I needed to start drinking it again in the shower this morning when I saw all the hair on my fingers after washing my hair. Not a good way to remember. I think my skin is better while drinking it as well!

  7. yousowould

    Are you fondling and kissing these strangers at the bar? How are you managing to get their gut flora??

    You do know this is bordering on tin foil hat. You’ll be sleeping in an oxygen tank next 😉

  8. TempestTcup Post author

    Lol, you know I love to take everything to the extreme for effect 🙂

    Just by talking bacteria is exchanged, plus there are always the hugs, etc (My sister’s group of friends always greet with a kiss on the lips & then a hug, but they are all extreme extroverts. Still I bet they have very diverse gut flora!). Nah, mostly I’m using it as an excuse to downsize our social circle to only people that are not tedious, so it’s fun to go to the bar, look around, say “no one here I want to exchange bacteria with” & then go sit outside on the patio in the sunshine.

  9. yousowould

    Haha, great excuse, I’ll remember that one next time I want to cut out of a boring conversation – “Sorry love, you’re getting too much gut flora on me”

    I personally believe there is too much emphasis on raising children in essentially sterile environments these days. Our immune systems develop and strength by being repeatedly exposed to different germs, and developing antibodies for them. The epidemic of allergies, respiratory problems and sickly children that appears to sweeping the western world is a direct consequence of lack of exposure to enough different foreign bodies at early ages.

    I literally /never/ get ill, and I used to roll around in the mud continuously as a kid!

  10. TempestTcup Post author

    That’ll get her hamster a-spinning! Also it is a good reason to kiss as many healthy skinny chicks as possible 🙂

    Right, when the kid is born by cesarean section (bypassing the birth canal bacteria) fed with formula (bypassing the flora in mother’s milk – not even going into all the soy etc) kept out of the dirt (and all the good bacteria in the soil) not allowed pets (etc) wiped down constantly with moist towelettes, washing hands, using Purell, it is no wonder everyone is sick these days.

    You have to buy soap from a health food store now to get it without the anti-bacterial component. Nuts!

  11. TGR White

    By that logic then slutting it up ois good because you are exposed to a wider variety of germs. There is research that sex increases immunoglobulin A (the immune antibody found in the mucus that covers all areas of your body exposed to air.

  12. TempestTcup Post author

    I do wonder if you can get bad bacteria off of people, like maybe spending too much time around someone with a candida overgrowth or something. I mean, this post was mostly written tongue in cheek, but I do wonder sometimes.

    *off to study immunoglobulin A 🙂 *

  13. Tom White

    “candida overgrowth”
    Candida is a yeast and is always found in your gut. Too much anti body use kills of bacteria in your stomach and candida spreads. Candida also feeds on sugar and a bad diet can spread it. I suspect that low carb flu people get when switching to paleo is candida die off.

    I did catch the tongue in cheek but after I found that IgA was strengthened by sex I decided that was as good as anyone reason to sleep around.

  14. TempestTcup Post author

    Absolutely sleep around – there is no reason not to in today’s society, as broken as it is!

    I’m not extremely well versed in yeasts, bacteria & molds because I really just started on my journey for better gut flora (well, I started a year or two ago, but haven’t devoted a lot of attention to it), but I’m going to look into it further.

    I think you are right about carb flu = candida die off. That makes total sense. Not sure if this is related because I always confuse yeasts, bacteria & molds, but when my husband & I tried our regimen of ACV, turmeric, ginger, digestive enzymes & vit-C to destroy any pathogenic biofilms we might have ( https://tempesttcup.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/bacteria-is-life/ ) we felt like absolute crap with headaches & general malaise. Not unlike carb flu.

    There just isn’t enough time in the day to study all of this & also do some actual work at work 🙂

  15. Tom White

    Not sure what that is. Could be a yeast die off but I am no expert, merely someone who has had to fix their health after destroying it.

Leave a Reply

