My Love Affair with Coconut Oil

pure-coconut-oil

There are tons of uses for coconut oil & it is a very stable, saturated oil that doesn’t oxidize and go rancid easily. It is very pure & healthy if you buy the cold pressed unrefined kind. I use this one the most because of the convenient size & availability. I use a lot of coconut oil; I have four jars in use at all times. I keep one in the kitchen, one in the bathroom, one by the bed & one at work.

I have one jar at work to use as a supplement. I take my oily supplements in the morning (I’m not sure why, it’s just the way things worked out)  , so I might take some vitamin D3, a cranberry & vitamin A and then take a tablespoon of coconut oil. The coconut oil is a happy pill; it’s effect on me is sometimes euphoric. It is also helpful if you are trying to get into ketosis for a ketogenic diet.

It contains important fatty acids that your body needs for basic biological functions. It can increase brain function & boost your immune system. It is a powerful antibiotic & virus destroyer and it promotes weight loss.

The one in the kitchen is for cooking. Coconut oil goes really well with breakfast & is a wonderful oil in which to cook eggs. It is so slippery that the eggs never stick (I do over-easy for me, over-medium for hubs) and the sweet taste goes well, too. Just heat up some pork or beef in coconut oil with some cumin & ground red pepper & serve the eggs on top for a tasty Huevos Rancheros. Popcorn is also excellent with coconut oil because of the high smoke point & slipperiness to reduce sticking.

I keep one jar of coconut oil in my bathroom to use as a face & body lotion. I step out of the shower wet, with my hair up in a towel, slather coconut oil on my wet body & then dry off with the bath towel. At first I thought it would stain my clothes, but I haven’t noticed it staining anything, even when I spilled some on my burgundy terrycloth bathroom floormat. Just be careful with it around your clean hair, it can really make your clean hair oily quickly.

My skin is a lot tighter. I’m getting older & at first I really had that crepey thin skin texture that old women get ( 😦 ), but after using coconut oil for about a year, most of that is gone & my skin sticks to my muscles really well. It is also good at healing wounds & reducing scars. One day I was drying my hair, reading the ingredients in my body lotion & wondering why I was putting all these petroleum products on my skin & the next day I was using coconut oil.

One jar goes by the bed because it makes a wonderful lube & is a great oil for massage. I know I keep mentioning the slipperiness of coconut oil, but that is one of its basic properties & is essential to both lubricants & massage oils. Other benefits of using it for lubrication is its antifungal, antibacterial & antiviral properties for proper pussy health!

9 thoughts on “My Love Affair with Coconut Oil

  1. Deep Strength

    Yeah, coconut is awesome. I should actually start using it for skin care more it’s really good.

    The fact that it’s a saturated fatty acid makes it all the more hilarious for the people who claim it’s bad for health. Almost all of the different carbon length saturated fatty acids (classes of short, medium and long chain triglycerides) have different effects in the body. And even subclasses within long chain triglyercides have some different effects as well.

  2. Stingray

    Tempest,

    I have been using the refined coconut oil to cook with because unless I am baking with it, I really do NOT like the flavor of coconuts. Is the unrefined, yet still cold pressed bad? I understand that it might not be as healthy as the unrefined, but do you know how *bad* it is?

    I’m really glad you did this post because it is something I have wanted to ask for a while.

    Another question, for your face, how does your makeup go on after using it?

  3. TempestTcup Post author

    Yeah, coconut smell/taste is one of those love/hate things. Some refined coconut oil is refined using steam (fine) & some is refined using chemicals (bad), but I don’t know how to distinguish between the two. If it is still cold pressed, it is probably fine.

    I do have to make sure there is no excess oil on my face, but usually it absorbs pretty well. I use Almay Smart Shade skin balancing makeup (I have bad redness – not rosacea but keratosis pilaris – & this totally hides it), which is very light & I only use a small pearl of it. I haven’t had any problems with it coming off or looking blotchy like I have with other makeup in the past (before I started using coconut oil).

  4. Sis

    Okay, I need to go out and buy more jars immediately. We have one in our kitchen and I’ve been very happy cooking with it. I’m never going back to margarine.

  5. TempestTcup Post author

    Oh yeah, margarine is terrible for you; it’s highly processed trans-fats & etc.

    I also use a lot of Kerrygold butter (grassfed cows!) & I save & use bacon grease from uncured bacon.

    The only problem with coconut oil that I have found is that it can get messy in the summer when it turns liquid, but if you put it in the refrigerator it gets rock hard, so I’m just careful with the liquid form.

  6. Stingray

    I do keep some unrefined in the house as I used to use it in my hair (I’ve switched to argon oil) and I started using it this morning. I have used it in the past (the refined) and I didn’t like it much so I am giving this another shot. I see so many women at my gym who are in very good shape and yet they look . . . dry. Dry skin, dry hair and their skin hangs a bit. I realize this is part of aging but I want to hold that off as long as possible.

    Funny thing is, I love the smell. I even like the taste plain. It is just the thought of using it on steak or eggs, things that are not meant to be sweet in my mind and pairing it with something meant for sweet. I concede it might be crazy, but . . . oh well. 😉

    Thanks again for this post.

  7. TempestTcup Post author

    Now reading up on argon oil 🙂

    OMG – fry up a steak in coconut oil & plop an egg or two on top; it is so good!
    https://tempesttcup.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/adventures-in-the-kitchen/

    My skin is so much better. It did use to hang a bit & still has a tiny bit of crepe to it, but is so much better. I’ve also been sunbathing to up my vitamin D levels naturally & that also tightens up the skin & smooths the fat just under the skin. I only go out for either 20 minutes per side in the morning or 10 minutes a side in the heat of the afternoon. I’m careful to not burn.

  8. altamisal

    I’m joining the coconut oil brigade in the war against crepe 🙂 I’ve heard olive oil works well, too, so I may alternate them.

Leave a Reply

