Exercise

exercise1

I have never been a person to exercise. It is boring to do alone & annoying to do with other people. I’ve always been very active, I’m pretty strong & I have a lot of muscle tone, but I’ve been noticing lately that my advanced age is starting to show. Then the topic of exercise came up at RedPillWoman & I think I just can’t put it off any longer.

I’ve always been pretty lean & I was probably skinny-fat during my “heart healthy whole grains” phase, but since I started menopause, it is getting really difficult to keep the weight off. Plus the problem of my fondness for beer & dive bars; I’ve always had the fondness, but it is probably not helping the weight issue, either.

The thing is that I’m super lazy & I don’t want to spend too much time on it. I’m not into cardio, either. I do have a really old SoloFlex set up in my dining room & I’ll rip off a quick 10 a couple of times a day, but that is about the extent of any sort of formal workout.

One of the things mentioned was Two Hundred Squats & since my butt could be a bit more pert & I can do squats at work (while everyone else is out to lunch) I’m going to try this exercise. Margery suggested kettlebells & I thought the exercises in the video she posted were pretty reasonable. Plus, you can see the chick in the video is really getting worn down by the end of the six or seven minutes of exercise.

Then Pill Scout tweeted a link to this article about green tea, so I went to the Asian market & bought a bunch of it. What the heck, I can use all of the help I can get, right?

I have already implemented the squats, but I’m having a difficult time finding a kettlebell. I guess it is the new big thing or something because there is a space on the shelf for different weights of them, but none to be found except the tiny 5 pounders. I want at least a 15 pounder; I did find a 10lb one, but it was really in bad shape & beat up. How does that even happen?

9 thoughts on “Exercise

  1. Stingray

    Kettlebells are good but you can just get a 15 lb free dumbbell and hold it perpendicular to the floor. It’ll do the same thing.

  2. TempestTcup Post author

    I was thinking about that – I have two 10lb dumbbells that I use some. I might also go to a sporting goods store instead of just looking at Walmart.

  3. Deep Strength

    Get a heavier KB. But you can sub with DBs if you need to.

    I would suggest getting a barbell and some weights though. Squats and deadlifts are where it’s at… Home pullup bar is good as well. All of the basics are great — dips, pullups, rows, pushups.

    Hiking is always a good idea if you live around mountains and less “boring.”

  4. TempestTcup Post author

    I wish I lived around mountains! We do live on a tall hill & will walk around the neighborhood. There is a lot of walking up & down during those walks.

    I was thinking about a 20lb KB just because I’m tall, so I would probably need heavier for more body mass.

    I help my husband build a lot of stuff & recently we have been pouring a patio section by section. He mixes & I finish. That is really good exercise!

  5. Pingback: Service with a smile. | Sunshine Mary

  6. Pingback: Hitting the Gym | Girls Being Girls

Leave a Reply

