My Boring but Hectic Life

hello-kitty-pink-gun
I’ve been really busy lately trying to get stuff done before winter hits. I’m also catching up on work since taking off for 10 days a couple of weeks ago. Plus, I think that I killed off some vital brain cells during Vegas, and I’m pretty sure they aren’t going to come back. My husband also keeps me very busy partying and visiting bars. Let’s see, I think I’ve listed all my excuses for not posting: busy, no brain, bars. Yep. That’s about it.

Dr. Illusion & Mistress are coming up for the big gun show this weekend and maybe other people, too, so that is also keeping me busy. The plan was to get some cheap rooms downtown and Scorched Earth the downtown area, but since the huge building boom and all the new bars and restaurants that opened, downtown is packed to the gills, and it is now expensive to get a room if there are any available.

I’m now rooting for everyone to stay at my teeny-tiny house (warning: construction zone, lol) and we can buy some air mattresses or something. We can dig a fire pit in our empty lot and scare the neighbors [Edit: husband says no firepit 😦 ]. We are just a mile from everything, and could easily take a taxi to destroy downtown. Just another option to renting two or three $150 a night rooms for a couple of nights. I’m a cheap date. I’m also fine with getting rooms if we actually can. We might camp out!

It’s weird, adjusting to the changing seasons. I haven’t figured out how to ferment in the cold, and I’m reluctant to heat the house up to summer temperatures. I thought about building a box that I could heat and ferment in, but that sounds like a pain and where would I put it? Maybe I could empty out a cabinet or something. I’m probably going to give up on it until next summer when the temp is hot again. By then I should have a special fermenting station on my back porch, which we are in the process of enclosing.

Instead, I’ve been slow cooking large chunks of meat and making tons of bone broth. We just finished up a huge rack of pork ribs, and then the bones went into the crockpot with a splash of vinegar to make some bone broth. I haven’t dragged another chunk of meat out of the deep freeze yet, but maybe I will tonight. Maybe I’ll grab a nice roast to cook in Guinness with onions and carrots. I’ve been skipping breakfast and lunch and living off of raw heavy cream in my coffee for breakfast, broth for lunch and a normal dinner.

Oh, and I also have been buying a bunch of books, and I may do some reviews soon. So far I have the Mindful Attraction Plan and Enjoy the Decline, but I have a bunch of others bookmarked to buy.

8 thoughts on “My Boring but Hectic Life

  1. The Woman Margery

    I could be just making this up but I seem to remember hearing somewhere that you can ferment by placing your fermentation containers in a crock pot set on “keep warm” or on a heating pad set on low. Don’t quote me, though. Still might be worth a shot?

  2. TempestTcup Post author

    I tried the “keep warm” setting but it got too hot. I didn’t think about a heating pad; I was trying to think of something safe to put maybe in a cupboard or something to keep it warm. That’s a good idea, I’ll look into it.

  3. TempestTcup Post author

    Sauerkraut and Rice Beer were two of the ones that didn’t work well the last time I tried.

    Yogurt worked well, but is only about an 8 hour process. I also ferment salsa and other things, but I think my main problem is with the rice beer. I might go with Margery’s suggestion and put a heating pad in a kitchen cabinet or something like that.

    I really want to get a kombucha scoby, but I’m afraid I’ll kill it!

  4. C. M. Sturges

    Not going to make it this weekend and I hate to say it but a tall blonde and a rented condo on the beach changed my mind. Hey, give me a break, I’m a single dude LOL.

Leave a Reply

