Allergies and Gut Flora

Gut Flora

I was reading Free the Animal and Richard had a post which had a section on how taking soil-based probiotics helped his allergies. I have been following his Resistant Starch series from the beginning and had just purchased some soil-based probiotics. I had my husband, who has horrible allergies, try taking one of them a day and a week later, he was off all allergy meds. He hasn’t taken an allergy pill for over 3 days now, and Spring is his worst season. I just wanted to get this out there for any of you who have allergies!

I am crazy busy at work (tons of overtime!) and my husband and I are starting a huge new project out of work, so I don’t have a lot of time to research this further, but go over and see what Richard has to say about it. Sorry I haven’t been around much, but hopefully soon I can start writing all of those posts that I have in my head! 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Allergies and Gut Flora

  1. vmunchausen

    Thanks for this…
    I just looked into those posts, and many of the stuff my wife experiences are what is described in the resistant starch posts you have linked here.
    She and I are going to give Resistant Starch a shot in the next few weeks, and if this works, I am going to find a way to give you a great big hug.
    Thanks!

  2. TempestTcup Post author

    Awesome!

    Just be warned that some people don’t react well with potatoes and potato starch. I reacted badly to the potato diet that Richard was on because it has so much copper in it it imbalanced (I will spare you the details of my reaction because, gross) my copper/zinc ratio. I think the nightshade aspect of potatoes also doesn’t agree with me.

    The potato starch, when I tried it, gave me this:

    http://robbwolf.com/2012/04/09/putting-hidradenitis-suppurativa-remission-paleo/

    although I have had that in the past (not much or often).

    I also think that these reactions to potatoes are a result of my bad gut flora, and no one else who experimented along with Richard had any complaints and there were a bunch of people. I would just take care to notice any reactions out of the ordinary.

    I do well with parboiled rice (Uncle Ben’s) but i wonder what sort of weird chemicals it is “enriched” with 🙂

    I do highly suggest the soil-based probiotics though!

  3. TempestTcup Post author

    My husband is shocked – this was his worst year ever for allergies. He usually has two seasons off from them but this year he had really bad allergies for an entire year, non-stop. Then BOOM – no allergy meds necessary.

    The ones we are using came from Whole Foods:

    http://www.amazon.com/Garden-Life-Defense-Probiotics-180-Count/dp/B000GWKA2K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1398888772&sr=8-2&keywords=probiotic+primal+defense

    As you can see, they aren’t cheap. The next ones I’m buying are the ones suggested by Richard:

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0049NW9UI/?tag=fretheani0c-20

    Which are even MORE expensive. I was worried about my husband taking all of those allergy pills with Acetaminophen in them, so whatever I can do to get that to stop, the better!

    Wow, I didn’t realize that huge pics would appear, LOL!

  4. Stingray

    I just finished reading about all of this at the link and it’s quite fascinating. Thanks for putting this up and when I’m able, I will definitely be giving these a try. I have to get subcutaneous allergy shots and have been for more than 3 years. It’s helped, but I still have problems. I would love for them to get better. I might just have to look into the resistant starch thing, too. 😉

  5. TempestTcup Post author

    Yes, LOL!

    They say that one of the best ways of getting good flora is by working in a garden and eating your veggies barely rinsed.

    Sometimes if someone has really bad gut flora, and pathogenic flora have moved in and set up biofilms, you might have to get rid of those before adding new flora will do any good. I have a post on that too:

    https://tempesttcup.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/fungus-among-us/

    I would suggest taking 2 tablespoons of Bragg AC vinegar in water a day (at different times than the probiotics, but on an empty stomach) at first to make sure you get rid of the bad stuff.

    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000222.htm

  6. Deep Strength

    Mmmmm. Another personal weigh in on the matter:

    Potatoes and rice are good for me. I tend to stick to rice and sweet potatoes. Wheat tends to jack me up and exacerbate any allergies.

    Beans seem to sit decently with me if I haven’t had wheat in a while… but if I have then beans irritate my digestive tract as well.

  7. TempestTcup Post author

    I can do sweet potatoes and white rice, I try not to do wheat, but sometimes I make grilled sandwiches with sourdough and lots of butter.

    Beans like navy and pinto don’t seem to bother me (I properly soak and ferment them) but lentils give me heartburn. I haven’t thought of beans being eaten in conjunction with wheat. I’ll have to keep that in mind.

  8. darlingdoll

    Interesting, I wouldn’t have thought that an imbalance in your gut flora would be a potential cause of allergies. I like it when you find interesting little articles and factoids such as this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

