This is What is Wrong With the World Today

lazy feminist

It was this comment that I read on reddit. This comment sums up everything wrong with young people and the world today. They have few interests beyond sitting at a computer snarking away at inane posts and pictures. The quote below was written by a user who wrote it yesterday and I had to scroll past about 400 comments that she made to find it again. Looking at her history, she has made over 30 comments in this hour alone.

GO OUTSIDE AND GET SOME SUNSHINE!!!!

I do consider myself a feminist, and that includes believing that every woman has a right to choose the actions and lifestyle she wants without being told what she should or should not do.

I am a very lazy person, and that makes it hard for me when it comes to most things feminine, because being traditionally feminine requires so much effort: I don’t cook anything from a recipe, I never bake, I don’t wear make-up, I don’t decorate, I don’t knit or sew or do crafts, I put minimal effort into my outfits, and I dislike shopping with a passion. However, I don’t really have any traditionally masculine interests, either – I can’t be bothered about sports, I don’t play videogames, I don’t read comic books, I don’t hunt/shoot etc etc.
I am interested in some of these things, I have a passing knowledge of many of them, but I don’t really care very much. Because of this I sometimes find it hard to converse with women on either end of the spectrum (and with men, sometimes) because I am rarely passionate about the things they are passionate about.

Are there other ladies here like me? If so, do you, like me, wonder about your identity as a woman when you don’t really fit any socially defined moulds? Where, or with whom, do you have the hardest time fitting in? How do you deal with any of this?

11 thoughts on “This is What is Wrong With the World Today

  1. TempestTcup Post author

    True, but what male leader wants to put up with someone that catatonic? I bet it’d take a crowbar to wrench her out of her chair 🙂

  2. Cadders

    🙂

    Depends

    Is she catatonic or just lost? Plenty of young women are.

    I’d give her the benefit of the doubt until I could tell.

  3. TempestTcup Post author

    True, she does seem lost and unable to do anything about it. She is wondering about her identity, not fitting in, and not dealing with it very well.

  4. Belle of the Library

    Um… how does she identify AS A PERSON? I like feminine things. I’m a crafter, and a sewer, and a cleaner, and an organizer. But even outside of that, I’m a librarian and, and a reader, and a friend, and a gun owner, and a beagle owner. None of those are inherently feminine. What does this woman DO with her time? Why is she comfortable with calling herself lazy? That’s not just a characteristic. It’s a flaw.

  5. TempestTcup Post author

    As far as I can see, she makes a comment on the average of every two minutes, so I would say that ALL she does is reddit. She needs to turn her computer/phone off and go for a walk or something!

  6. Pingback: Making It Worth The Investment | Donal Graeme

  7. Emma the Emo

    Lol 🙂 Looks like she needs feminism because it gives her an identity. Otherwise, lack of passion would leave emptiness in its place. But she could just call herself a proud slacker, lol

  8. Amy

    That reminds me of this post: http://stranamasterov.ru/node/105178

    It’s a complicated crochet dog. My niece saw a picture of it and begged me to make it. The page is in Russian, but you can google translate it. It’s worth it for the comments. Not one girl complains that it is too hard. They all say some variant of it;s so beautiful, I cannot wait to make it, my child will be so happy, etc. They are happy to put in the effort that makes someone else happy.

Leave a Reply

