Femininity Cosplay: a Sh!t-Filled Twinkie

1

I found this post on Twitter this morning (H/T Private Man), and this passage stood out to me:

From the practical standpoint, a man who makes less than I do becomes a financial liability. After all, we women can have our own children, and push comes to shove, it would be much easier for me to just have my own kids and date whomever I want on the side without being financially responsible for them. So no matter how you look at it, I am better off alone than with a 60% guy. Personally, after struggling for some time with this issue and realizing that I need to start doing something differently if I am to succeed in my love quest, I have developed a new “multi-faceted strategy.”

I have undergone a rather dramatic makeover. I grew long hair and dyed it blond which gave me a softer, more feminine look. I gave all my trousers to charity and started wearing bright colored dresses and skirts and high heels. I began applying makeup routinely. I re-thought the way I speak and made an effort to not express any strong opinions. I stopped saying “I think” and started saying “I feel.” You get the idea. With respect to the type of men I am looking for – I still want those 95th percentile guys. Except they don’t have to be in that percentile in all aspects. I’d gladly date a 5’4’’ tall master of the universe who may lack external attributes of manliness but can make me feel special in so many different ways. Or, I’d date a law enforcement professional who may not make as much as a financial whiz, but is big, strong and can handle difficult situations and protect his family like no one else. Or, I could date a guy who is in a sense my “clone” but is substantially older than me (we’re talking 20+ years, considering I am in my late 20’s I have ample headroom there) and would therefore never feel competitive, but could rather be a mentor.

I am not in a steady relationship yet, but the quality of my dating life has improved dramatically, and I feel that I am a lot closer to finding that special guy than I was a year ago.

Notice that she changes her appearance, but doesn’t change her attitude at all. She’s still the aggressive ball buster she always was, but now she is wrapped in a pretty pink bow. The quality of her dating life has improved because she looks more accessible, so a better class of men will ask her out, but they don’t keep her.

Repeatedly on RPW, women come on complaining how they started wearing dresses, cooking, and being outwardly more feminine, but whereas they have much better luck with dating, they are still not having luck in the relationship department. They don’t understand that a veneer of femininity will only help with attraction; it doesn’t make the man want to keep you around, like he would if you had an agreeable personality.

Being a shrew, looking down your nose at people, being disrespectful, etc. is not a very good relationship strategy no matter how much you pretty up the outside. No matter how soft, moist, and sweet the cake part of the Twinkie, people will still spit it out if it is filled with shit. Cosplaying femininity is acting the part, not internalizing it. Instead, develop a pleasant personality, and when you find the right man, allow yourself to be vulnerable and respectful instead of busting his balls.

The whole post linked is pretty good, and in the rest of her submission to Evan Marc Katz’s blog post, you will find out that she considers herself in the 90th percentile in looks, intelligence and income. We will never know if she is over-valuing herself in the looks department since there was no photo, and I’m certain that she has had her intelligence tested, but 90th percentile is only 120, which isn’t really very high.

It’s the money/career part where she gets her attitude. She’s hot snot in the job department, and probably doesn’t realize that most men are not sexually attracted to a woman’s career. She has effectively priced herself out of the relationship market, and since she’s in her late twenties, she has aged out of the teeny bit of market (men in the 95th percentile) she has left. By this I mean that men in the 95th percentile are the ones that all women want, so not only does she have fierce competition, but it is a lot younger, too.

11 thoughts on “Femininity Cosplay: a Sh!t-Filled Twinkie

  1. Dash Riprock

    Feminist Cosplay! What a great phrase and it describes perfectly this young woman’s MO. It really is just another version of having it “all” . Except that all now doesn’t mean having a sensitive new age male as a househusband. No, our girl writer at least gets that this kind of fellow is a tingle killer. She wants her a real man, but she is going about it like she would if she wanted to land an internship on Wall Street. So again you are right, it’s the careerist mindset that is fueling her cosplay and it is that very mindset that will most likely scare away the kind of men she now knows she truly desires. The hope is that she will run across that sufficiently mature man she says she is after who will then call her bluff and disabuse her of all her silly notions. By then things may gotten a little too real and she will start looking around feverishly for a white knight to come to the rescue or just perhaps she’ll really swallow the red pill on her own volition. Here’s hoping

  2. donalgraeme

    She’s not cosplaying feminism, she’s feminist to the core. She’s a man in women’s clothing 🙂

    Exactly.

    Really, why would the kind of man that she wants… want her? I suppose I come close to what she is looking for. Perhaps even meet it. But I see no reason why I would ever want to be in a relationship with her.

  3. kirby

    She’s an office viper. She’s looking to nail the boss, and she’s going to take him straight to HR and her lawyer when he breaks her heart. She’ll cry crocodile tears in court, and deposit his retirement into her checking account. She is rolling what we would consider alpha “game” in a man, (upping her SMV, creating set, etc) but where the average alpha male pursues only sex, she’s pursuing social status, safety and security, and dollar bills for life. This critter is going to nuke someone in divorce court.

  4. TempestTcup Post author

    It’s true Donal, you should see the hungry looks my husband gets from these women who want a hot husband; “I need a hot husband – THERE’S ONE!” and think that the man is the solution to her problem, when the problem is her entitlement and her supposition that her career is attractive to the sort of man I married (disclaimer: I’m an accountant, and I make the bucks, but I respect and adore my husband, and I latched onto him 32 years ago when I was young and cute :).

    They seem to think that if I weren’t in the picture, THEY could have him; why wouldn’t he want a young, cute woman without the bitchy attitude and time-consuming career?

  5. Tom Arrow

    I always knew I wanted to be masculine. But back when I was much more ashamed of that wish than now, I simply faked it. It felt horrible. It felt like suppressing who I was only to fake it on top of the suppression. Pretty stupid, too.

    I imagine that it may be similar to girls who grow up with parents who more than encourage her to be a careerist. She may simply suppress the femininity that she inherently has. Feel ashamed of it.

    I do not think that you have to develop a pleasant personality. I think you just have to find a way to express it. I think that there really is only a small percentage of women who really do not feel the inherent wish to be feminine.

  6. TempestTcup Post author

    “I do not think that you have to develop a pleasant personality.”

    LOL, that was just a nice way of saying “don’t be a bitch.” I think in general, people seem to prefer pleasant women, but of course, there are always those men who seem to be drawn to the shrew.

  7. redpillchick

    Haha interesting post. Took me a while to figure out what cosplay was until I realized I was spending too much time on my looks and not my personality. I realized I was still judging men too hard, not being a fun person to be around, and all in all I just looked like a bitch with resting bitch face. It definitely takes a while to look inward and while having good looks and being good at makeup and hair are important, that’s not enough to keep a man.Character really is everything and needs to be cultivated.

  8. Tom Arrow

    “LOL, that was just a nice way of saying “don’t be a bitch.” I think in general, people seem to prefer pleasant women, but of course, there are always those men who seem to be drawn to the shrew.”

    Who cares about general. Do what your gut tells you to do. Some men surely like bossy women, although they probably are a minority. If you feel good being who you are, it does not matter anyway. But if you are thinking in terms of what men prefer, I suspect you have not yet put that much thought into who you want to be yourself. Then again, who am I to lecture? Whatever you are doing is just what you want and need to be experiencing anyway.

  9. Pingback: What it Means to be a Red Pill Girly | Red Pill Chick

Leave a Reply

